top of page

The Publishing Process #3


The next step is one of the most difficult, yet one of the most important. It’s the dreaded ‘Query Letter’. The query tells the agent just what your book is about, the genre, and the word count. It is also an opportunity to let the agent know if you have any past publications or specialty education or training.

How the query letter is put together is definitely a controversial topic. I have so far seen five or six different types of query letters that differ significantly from each other. My query letter has evolved over the six months I have been submitting, trying to find the perfect query that grabs the attention of an agent.

I have followed one website that gave query advise originally, and had have had only one request for my full manuscript, which from a publisher, not an agent, who eventually declined.

I have now found another very exciting sight that will critique your query. This site is “AgentQuery Connect” which can be found at http://agentqueryconnect.com. This site follows Literary Agent Janet Reid, who has a blog at http://queryshark.blogspot.ca. BTW… she sent me a refusal letter on one of my old query letters. If you submit your query to either site, you need to grow a thick skin, because they are brutally honest about what you have done wrong. If you can hold out, though, they will guide you until you have the perfect query. I am very close to the perfect query, and although I’ve taken some abuse, I can see the evolution of my query.

The main advice I can give, having made the mistakes is to wait until you are fully prepared. I did rush it and can now forget about sending the submission to those that have already said no. You only get one kick at the can. You’ve just spent a lot of time creating your masterpiece; don’t lose an opportunity by submitting until you have that perfect query letter, synopsis and sample chapters. More on the last two later.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page