top of page

Book Review: FORD Abomination by Linwood Barclay


This is my first Barclay read. I was checking him out at the local library because he is a Canadian author. Before I could check out his other material (mainly crime thrillers), I found this book. It is a satire that looks at the controversial leadership of the Ontario Conservative government under Doug Ford.


I found myself laughing out loud (to the annoyance of my wife) while listening to what has happened through the first couple years of the Ford Reign. The summary comprises well known public facts, (Buck-a-Beer was solid legislation) but seen through the quick wit of an accomplished writer. If you have shaken your head at the antics of the Ford government, you’ll definitely enjoy this group of comical (in a sad way) essays. I think it is high time the author brings forth a sequel, because what Ontario voters have done to themselves by giving Ford a second majority. (Man, do we enjoy shooting ourselves in the foot.)


I promise to review a Barclay thriller next.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page